Over a million people in Wales help their communities and each other in all sorts of remarkable ways. And since 2004 the Wales Volunteer of the Year Awards has been shining the spotlight on these incredible people.

Daniel Walsh


Daniel Walsh, winner of a Young Person award last year, with event host Frank Hennessy of the BBC (left) and Tom Jones OBE, WCVA Vice President (right).

And to celebrate a decade of the Awards, we've added a new category. So as well as nominating your top -

- this year you can also vote in the International Volunteer category, for individuals who have volunteered with international partners and organisations in Wales.

So grab a nomination form today and get that outstanding volunteer or group the recognition they deserve. All nominees will receive a certificate of commendation, and those selected as winners will receive a trophy at a special ceremony in Cardiff in June 2014.

The new deadline is 5pm on Thursday, 17 April, 5pm!


Tweet: I've nominated my Wales Volunteer of the Year - why don't you? #voty2014



Rules of the scheme

1. Nominations must be received by 11 April 2014 at WCVA, Baltic House, Mount

Stuart Square, Cardiff Bay CF10 5FH, or awards@wcva.org.uk, using an official

nomination form (or a photocopy or downloaded version).

2. Individuals cannot be nominated by a partner or family member, or nominate

themselves. Groups cannot be nominated by an employee, volunteer or

trustee of the organisation.

3. You may only nominate one nominee or group from each category.

4. The nominees must live in Wales, or undertake their volunteering work in

Wales. The groups nominated must be based in Wales.

5. Permission must be sought from the person or group nominated.

6. Personal details provided on the nomination form may be passed on to

partner organisations and to the media for publicity purposes. If you are

not willing for any information to be shared in this way or if you do not wish

media organisations to contact the nominee or nominator, please let us know

as soon as possible.

7. Previous winners of major Wales/UK awards are not eligible for nomination

including the Wales Volunteer of the Year Award.

8. The judges' decision on entries is final. Up to three winners will be selected

for each award category. The judges reserve the right not to make an award in

any particular category if they feel that nominations are not suitable.

9. The nature of the certificates and awards presented is the decision of WCVA.

No alternative prizes will be considered.